Why I blog

I’ve set myself a New Year’s Resolution to blog more, which is kind of what this post is about. I wrote this suddenly after scheduling another post to go out. This often happens to me. Writing one thing lets loose my drive to keep going.

Why not?

I blog to speak, to exist, simply to write. I don’t know who I am, or what I think, or even how I feel until I commit words to paper. Or in the case of blogging, little characters to the digital ephemera of the internet.

I’ve schooled and been schooled in the art of writing ‘useful’, ‘usable’, slick and sumptuous articles. But that’s not everything. I see the world of blogs as being home to a collection of voices – personal intellectual sanctums being set free.

Blogging is writing practise

If nothing else, blogging is the simple act of writing. It’ll set you off to find your voice. If you’re anything like a writer, then you should do it. Writing is a physical pastime like chopping wood or cutting pastry for cookies. It requires serious amounts of repetition. It gives very little in return if you’re looking for a cheap getaway, with the exception of the odd jewel, and that’s if you’ve really put in the hours.

One last thing

Fill up your notebooks. You didn’t buy them to use as paperweights. In fact, you wouldn’t need to keep your paper weighed down if you reapplied all that pressure to one of the pens sleeping in a pot on your shelf. So think with your hands more and blog…

Leave a comment